Tom Henderson, Cameron McCormick Headline 2015 PGA of America National Award Recipients

Tom Henderson, Cameron McCormick Headline 2015 PGA of America National Award Recipients

Henderson Named PGA Golf Professional of the Year;

McCormick, Jordan Spieth’s Instructor, Honored as PGA Teacher of the Year Connecticut, has been named the 62nd recipient of the PGA Golf Professional of the Year Award. The highest annual honor given to a PGA of America Professional, Henderson heads the 2015 PGA National Awards class for “qualities of leadership, strong moral character and a substantial record of service” to the PGA and the game of golf.

Henderson is in his 29th year as PGA Head Professional at Round Hill Club. He continued his pursuit of lifelong learning by becoming the first PGA member to obtain PGA certification in Player Development in 2012. He has held every office in the Metropolitan PGA Section, including President from 2007-‘09. Henderson currently serves on the national Board of Control. Previously, he was a national Player Development Committee member and co-chair of both the Instruction Committee and the 2013 PGA Teaching & Coaching Summit in Orlando. Henderson is the third member of the Metropolitan PGA Section to win the award following Ron Letellier of Cold Spring Harbor, New York (1976); and Jim Albus, of Piping Rock Club in Locust Valley, New York (1990).

PGA Professional Cameron McCormick of Brook Hollow Golf Club, in Dallas, was named the PGA Teacher of the Year Award recipient for his “outstanding services as a golf teacher and coach.” The third member of the Northern Texas PGA Section to be so honored, McCormick was recognized for his coaching experience, skillset, service and commitment to golf. McCormick, in his 11th year at Brook Hollow, is a 2015 GOLF Magazine Top 100 teacher. For the past nine years, he has instructed PGA Tour Professional Jordan Spieth—winner of this year’s Masters and U.S. Open—as well as six of the top 75 ranked junior players, including 2015 U.S. Junior Amateur Champion Philip Barbaree. McCormick will begin a new position this year as PGA Director of Instruction at Trinity Forrest Golf Club.

Henderson, McCormick and the balance of the 2015 PGA of America’s national awards class will be recognized in a ceremony on Nov. 11, in conjunction with the 99th PGA Annual Meeting in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.

“Becoming a national award recipient truly defines the character and commitment of these individuals, for they exhibit an unmatched dedication to advancing the game of golf,” PGA President Derek Sprague said. “The PGA is proud to honor these PGA Professionals and their impact on the sport on both a national level, as well as in their local communities.”

Other recipients of 2015 PGA of America Awards include:

Youth Player Development Award: Bill Castner, Plainfield West 9 Golf Club, Edison, New Jersey

Bill Strausbaugh Award: Bill Hughes, TPC Sawgrass, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida

Horton Smith Award: Russ Libby, Hidden Hills Country Club, Jacksonville, Florida

Player Development Award: Tim Krebs, East Potomac Golf Course, Washington, D.C. (now at Butterfield Trail Golf Club, El Paso, Texas)

Patriot Award: David Windsor, Adaptive Golf Academy, Sarasota, Florida

Deacon Palmer Award: Brad Clayton, Puzzle Duck Golf, Oxford, North Carolina

Herb Graffis Award: New Jersey PGA Section

PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Private Facilities: Jason Epstein, The Club at Las Campanas, Santa Fe, New Mexico

PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Public Facilities: Jim Hajek, Fossil Trace Golf Club,

Golden, Colorado

PGA Merchandiser of the Year – Resort Facilities: Miles Blundell, Turning Stone Resort Casino, Verona, New York

For more information on the individual award winners, click here.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.